The 24-hour transformation of Miss Chow to Mrs.Lee

1 Jul

Today is the last day I can call myself Miss Chow. Come tomorrow I will be signing a piece of document that will make me Mrs. Lee.

 

Although I’ve been preparing for this day since 2009, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to say goodbye to the Chow in me. After all, I’ve been a Chow for 26 years! I’ve had countless nicknames based on Chow, like Chow Chow In fact, I was known as just Chow throughout secondary school because there were too many Joannes around. Plus, I have not visited the Chow ancestral home, which apparently is in the Foo Chow province in China!

 

But name clinginess aside, I think I’ve pretty much accepted the idea of being the other half of someone else. In fact, I gave up the mentality of a single person on the day I said “yes’ to Ian’s proposal.

 

Since then, I’ve been learning how to accommodate another person into my decision-making process, and how to juggle my time between the many awesome people who love me. It’s not easy, but nothing worth doing is ever easy, right?

 

So the next time you see me, don’t shy away from calling me Miss Chow/ Chow Chow. It may not be my rightful name, but it can still be my nickname!

11 Responses to “The 24-hour transformation of Miss Chow to Mrs.Lee”

  1. tusilya July 2, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    Awww….thats a sweet entry. Congrats again Miss Chow. The next time I see you…you will be Mrs Lee. 🙂

    • smubblerz July 2, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

      Yes! Hehehe… It’s going to take some time for me to get used to being called Mrs. Lee

  2. johnsee July 2, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    Don’t worry, you’ll get through it like any other day. 🙂
    And after that? You’re still think of yourself as both Miss Chow and Mrs. Lee. Double identity, hahaha.

    • smubblerz July 2, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      You’re right! Just feeling really tired now. Going to take a nap!

  3. ChristinE July 2, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    There will always be a chow chow in you, I am sure 😉 Have heaps of fun tomorrow! Hugs and kisses to Mr. And Mrs Lee hehe

    From BJ with love 🙂

    • smubblerz July 2, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      Thanks babe. Yea, I will always have some Chow in me:)

  4. Stunning July 4, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I know what you mean….11 years with my husband & i still get butterflies in my tummy when he does something nice. I’m still Sandra Duarte but I’m happy when i get wedding / Christmas cards that says “Mr & Mrs Randy Pavanaris”. Its a nice feeling to belong to someone that cherishes & cares for you. Congratulations to you & your hubby. I wish all the best.

    Hugs!! Sandra Duarte

    • smubblerz July 5, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      Awww… Thanks stunning!

  5. Joyce Rachel Lee July 12, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    I’m getting nervous already. David and I are attending the CMPC end of this month. Hope everything turns out well. 😛

  6. Joyce Rachel Lee July 12, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    I’m getting nervous already. David and I are attending the CMPC end of this month. Hope everything turns out well. 😛

    By the way, congrats! 😀

    • smubblerz July 14, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Oh wow! congrats to the both of you! 🙂
      Have fun!

Leave a Reply

